LUBBOCK, Texas (KCBD) – There are safe places in Lubbock and throughout Texas to take a baby if the mother can’t care for it. The child will be taken care of, without asking any questions, if he is brought safely to one of these places. This is called the Baby Moses Law.
An EMS station near 73rd and University Avenue is one such location. Each location has a yellow “Safe Baby Site” sign posted on the outside of the building, advising parents that this is a safe place to leave their babies.
The Baby Moses Act was created in 1999 to provide a responsible alternative to desperate mothers. A baby can be taken to any hospital, stand-alone emergency, fire station, or EMS station in Texas. The child must be 60 days or less and be unharmed. All the person needs to say is leave their baby on the Safe Baby site.
Mothers will not be asked to give information and the police will not be called. In addition, the mother will not be prosecuted.
The child will be taken to a hospital for medical treatment, and then the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services will take custody of the child.
Nick Wilson, deputy chief of Lubbock Fire Rescue, explains why this law is helping prevent cases like Hobbs’ on Friday.
“It’s just horrible to see this happen to a child and that’s why it’s really important that we get this message out so that these mothers, these people who are in these situations, know that you don’t have to. that with your child. That there is a place to go, that there are safe options, and that there are people that you can take this child to who will help you take care of them and ensure that all their needs are met. are satisfied.
Wilson wants parents to know that it is very important to entrust their baby with someone who works at one of the sites instead of leaving them outside, so that the child can receive the best care.
Where can I take my baby?
- Take your baby to any hospital, fire station, or EMS (Emergency Medical Services) station in the state of Texas.
- Remember that it is VERY important to entrust your baby to someone who works in one of these establishments. It is the best way to take care of your baby.
- Tell the person you want to leave your baby on the Safe Baby site.
- Look for the yellow sign.
How old can the baby be?
- You can take your baby for up to 60 days. What are they going to ask me?
- You may receive a voluntary form to fill out which is used to provide medical information for your child. This is NOT an attempt to try to find out who you are. This information will be recorded in your baby’s records and may help you answer health questions in the future.
- The Safe Baby site can provide you with references and helplines that you may want to call in the future if you want to talk to someone about what you’ve been through.
Is it true that the police will not be called?
- If you leave your baby unharmed (60 days or less) with someone who works in a hospital, fire station, or with an EMT, the police will not be called and you will not be prosecuted for abandonment or neglect.
What happens to my baby?
- If you leave your baby in a fire station or with a paramedic, the paramedic will provide immediate medical attention and then transport him to the nearest hospital.
- The hospital will take care of any additional medical needs your baby may have.
- The Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services (TDPRS) will then take custody of your child.
- Once the legal responsibilities have been fulfilled by the TDPRS, your baby will be placed in a caring family.
Why does the baby have to be 60 days or less?
- The intention of the Baby Moses Act is to provide a responsible alternative to desperate mothers.
- The first few days of a newborn’s life are the most critical and probably the time when immediate medical attention is needed.
The “Baby Moses Act” is the common name for a law authorizing a designated emergency care provider for infants to take possession of a child appearing to be 60 days or younger from the child’s parent, if the parent is not. ‘express no intention of returning for the child. You can find this law in the Texas Family Code, Chapter 262, Subchapter D. Emergency Possession of Certain Abandoned Children. One of the goals of the law is to encourage parents who abandon their children to do so with a designated emergency child care provider rather than in an unsafe location. The law also protects parents from criminal prosecution when delivering a safe child to a designated emergency infant care provider.
Copyright 2022 KCBD. All rights reserved.